Geek Culture is Pop Culture!

As of Monday, April 2nd, so that no one would think that it was an overly elaborate April Fools joke, Youtube has added channels with TV like programming.  Ignoring the fact that they completely let an amazing opportunity for a brilliant April fools joke, I think this is absolutely great.  I Have already subscribed to two channels, and I am already loving the content!  This is great for so many reasons, but mainly because it gives content creators, who can be literally anyone, a chance to be heard or seen or laughed at.  Ok, maybe not everyone, lets draw the line at the plague that is reality TV….. You know the ones I am talking about.

So what is out there, and why should you give a flying frak?  Well like I said there is some great stuff already up out there, and it’s only been a few days.  I would love to get involved with something like this, but I would also love to be on the Big Bang Theory, go to space, have my own podcast, and of course own a Lotus Evora.  But none of those are likely to happen in the next year or so, if ever.  So for now I am going to continue to enjoy the podcasts I listen to, and of course writing here for anyone who will listen… I mean read.

Look a Nerdist!

Lets start with my personal favorites Nerdist Industries.  This is the corporation/company/group/awesome comedy party that has been putting out podcasts for a while now.  Its a view of the nerdy world through the eyes of fellow nerds that are also quite funny comedians.  What really make these guys (Chris Hardwick, Matt Mira, and Jonah ray) great though is their willingness to talk to their fans, at least that is what I hear.  I haven’t been able to go to a live show yet, and have never been able to get their attention through twitter or email.  But that doesn’t mean much, as my internet superpower is digital invisibility.  Which really sucks since I want to set up a podcast at some point and could really use some advice on how to successfully blend the chemistry/science, comedy, awkwardness, and overactive imagination with the grad school life…. basically how to turn my life into a podcast!  Anyway, Chris Hardwick, the brilliant creater and owner of the whole Nerdist thing, has set up a Nerdist channel, and filled it with some rather funny content.  Among the shows; Star Talk with Neil deGrasse Tyson, All Star Celebrity Bowling, Indoor Kids, a show with NPH (coming soon), and many more.  This is really worth checking out if you have a second.  Here is the Link, if you haven’t noticed it above!

The other channel I am a huge fan of is the Geek & Sundry channel.  This is done by Felcia Day, who happens to be a friend of Chris Hardwick, and also happens to be a simply brilliant and fantastic person.  Why is it that every one in LA knows each other… damn you for rejecting my only shot at getting out there UCLA!  Anyway, Felicia is absolutely amazing, as I said before, she is funny, awkward, geek, pretty, and of course very talented.  I do not know her in real life, but I have seen her work ,and am very impressed, and a huge fan.  Not a creepy fan… shit if she happens to read this she is gonna think I am a stalker!  Where did I leave that awkward rewind lever?  Oh well, what are the odds that she will find this anyway.  Back to topic, shall we?  The Geek & Sundry channel has some great shows, like the first few seasons of The Guild (a show about gamers ), a great show called Table Top, and Felicia’s own The Flog.  All of these are great, and worthy of your attention if you are a fan of comedy, games, redheads, awkwardness, and/or things that are…you know…. good.

Chris and Felicia in the same spot…. this can only be either; the origin point of all internet geek/comedy content, or the beginning of an amazing show…

So there it is, a small, but brilliant list of shows and podcasts that I wish I was working on, and of course that everyone should watch.  Also, if either, Chris or Felicia… or Vajonah or Mira Booey… happen to read this, they should let me know how it is, and consider the value of a science/geek/comedy podcast… eh, eh, nudge nudge, wink wink.  Well with that hail Mary out of the way…. Since everyone has a geeky side, and absolutely everyone needs a good laugh every now and then, these are people to check out!  I am a bit out of things to say, so…. zombie kangaroos!  Oh and a music video from The Guild… it’s not just a show anymore!

About thepickledhedgehog

I am a big fan of chemistry, well science in general really. I am currently gearing to go after that elusive PhD in Chemistry. For now though I write about all things geeky or science that I find interesting, or think the world should know. All the while secretly hoping to find a blue police box when I round a corner one day.
This entry was posted in Academia, Awkward, Fun, Funny?, Geekism, Grad School, Music, Ramble, Rant, Science, The Future, The Internet, The Past, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment