Curiosity…

No, not the Mars rover.  Though the Curiosity rover is a brilliant example of the result of the pure curiosity that drives so many.  Curiosity, that drive to understand the unknown and  unseen.  From wind, rain, and thunder to what holds protons and neutrons together in the nucleus of an atom.  To question has always been role of the scientist, one of which has always been taken up willingly.  However the drive to question the world around us is more than just a scientific cause.  Curiosity is a core part of human nature, one we can not afford to let fall into neglect.

As a scientist curiosity is possibly the strongest driving force behind what I do.  How does this reaction work?  Why does this molecule change color?  Why do turtles have shells?  Can we make bigger and more stable elements?  These are just a small sampling of the questions that pop through my head in a day or a week.  I am constantly seeking answers, and that is what makes me a driven scientist, and hopefully a good one.  As a whole though, the drive to question makes me a better person as well.  If it was not for this innate need to find out things work, or what is over the next hill, mankind would have never made it out of the cave, or find our way to the moon.

I am infinitely perplexed by those who are not interested in questioning the world around them.  How is it that anyone can be content with just the surface of the world.  I can not understand, I can not grasp how anyone can be okay with the easy answer.  How can anyone look at a firefly and not wonder how a small flying insect can light up?  I can not understand complacency, or understand how anyone can not want to go to the Moon and Mars.  I could spend the rest of my life trying to unravel one mystery and die a happy man, it is pursuit of the answer that is a reward as much as the answer is.  Somehow it is more than just solving a puzzle, if only because the answers explain so much about our surroundings.

While I do my best to express my thoughts and feelings about science and curiosity and so on on this blog, my ability to do this nothing compared to what other can explain.  I think I would be better at expressing all of these things if i could just talk instead of typing.  So here is a man who inspires and explains things so well.  Richard Feynman is one of the inspirations that brought me to where I am today.  Here is his take on curiosity.

For scientists what is plain and apparent is never enough.  It is interesting to know that something happens; it is amazing to know why it happens, and it is blissful to know how it happens.

About thepickledhedgehog

I am a big fan of chemistry, well science in general really. I am currently gearing to go after that elusive PhD in Chemistry. For now though I write about all things geeky or science that I find interesting, or think the world should know. All the while secretly hoping to find a blue police box when I round a corner one day.
This entry was posted in Academia, Biology, Chemistry, Geekism, Grad School, Physics, Science, Space, The Future, The Past and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

